Most asked Microsoft 365 licensing questions
14 Microsoft 365 licensing questions, answered from Microsoft’s own documentation. Every claim links to its source; prices are in CHF from microsoft.com/de-ch.
Choosing plans and features7
Business Premium or Microsoft 365 E3: how does the 300-seat cap work?
How do I find out which licence a feature needs?
Short answerLook the feature up in its Microsoft service description. License every user who benefits, even if it’s switched on tenant-wide.
- Microsoft Learn’s service descriptions list the suites and add-ons that grant each feature. [1]
- The Product Terms are the contract. They beat any slide or PDF. [2]
- The service-plan list shows what a SKU switches on, not what you may use. [3]
- A feature that works isn’t necessarily licensed. Every user who benefits needs the licence. [4]
- Example: Conditional Access needs Microsoft Entra ID P1; risk-based policies need Entra ID P2. [5]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 6 sources
Check the Microsoft service description on Microsoft Learn: it lists which licences grant each feature, and the Product Terms are the contract behind it. Licensing is per user. Everyone who benefits needs the licence, even when the feature runs for the whole tenant.
- The service descriptions (Microsoft Defender, Microsoft Entra, Microsoft Intune, Microsoft Purview and others) are the main reference for which licence gives which feature. For each feature they list the suites and add-ons that grant it. [1]
- Your use rights are defined in the Product Terms. Where a slide or PDF says something else, the Product Terms win. [2]
- “Product names and service plan identifiers for licensing” maps each SKU to the service plans it provisions. Useful for admins, but it doesn’t state use rights. [3]
- Many services run tenant-wide and can’t be restricted technically. Every user who benefits still needs a licence: eDiscovery (Premium) custodians, for example, or everyone whose mailbox Microsoft Defender for Office 365 protects. [4]
- Conditional Access needs Microsoft Entra ID P1, which comes in Business Premium, E3 and EMS E3. Risk-based policies need Entra ID P2, which comes in E5 or the Microsoft Defender Suite. [5]
Common mistakes
- Trusting a plan comparison PDF or a partner slide over the service description. Those lag behind and simplify.
- Buying one licence to switch on a tenant-wide feature. Every user in scope must be licensed.
- Using old names. E5 Security is now the Microsoft Defender Suite; E5 Compliance is now the Microsoft Purview Suite.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Microsoft 365 guidance for security & compliance · Microsoft Learn · page dated 21 August 2026
- 2. Microsoft Product Terms · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
- 3. Product names and service plan identifiers for licensing · Microsoft Learn · page dated 19 August 2026
- 4. Microsoft Purview service description · learn.microsoft.com · page dated 21 August 2026
- 5. Microsoft Entra Conditional Access: Zero Trust policy engine · Microsoft Learn · page dated 27 April 2026
- Further reading (not cited above)6. Modern Work plan comparison (Enterprise) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
What do we need before rolling out Microsoft 365 Copilot?
Short answerPer user: a qualifying base plan, a Microsoft Exchange Online mailbox and Microsoft 365 Copilot (Microsoft 365 Copilot Business on Business plans).
- Most Microsoft 365 and Office 365 plans qualify. Microsoft 365 E7 already includes Microsoft 365 Copilot. [1]
- Microsoft 365 Copilot Business: for Business plans, up to 300 users, also sold in bundles. [2]
- The mailbox must be in Microsoft Exchange Online and the apps licensed per user. [3]
- The apps must run on Current Channel or Monthly Enterprise Channel. [4]
- Free Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat answers from the web. Answers from your own data need the licence. [1]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 4 sources
Each Microsoft 365 Copilot user needs a qualifying Microsoft 365 base licence, a paid Copilot licence, a Microsoft Entra ID account, a primary mailbox in Microsoft Exchange Online and the Office apps on Current or Monthly Enterprise Channel. Copilot Business is for Business plans up to 300 users; Microsoft 365 Copilot covers everyone else.
- Qualifying base plans include Microsoft 365 Business Basic, Standard and Premium, E3, E5, F1 and F3, the Office 365 plans, Microsoft 365 Apps, Microsoft Teams Enterprise, and the Exchange, Microsoft SharePoint and Microsoft OneDrive plans. Microsoft 365 E7 already includes Microsoft 365 Copilot. [1]
- Microsoft 365 Copilot Business is an add-on for customers on Business plans, capped at 300 users. You can also buy it bundled with Business Standard or Business Premium. [2]
- Users need a Microsoft Entra ID account and a primary mailbox in Microsoft Exchange Online; on-premises mailboxes are not supported. The Microsoft 365 Apps must be licensed per user, not per device. Some features also need Microsoft OneDrive. [3]
- Microsoft 365 Copilot needs Current Channel or Monthly Enterprise Channel. From July 2026, Semi-Annual Enterprise Channel was merged into Monthly Enterprise Channel. [4]
- Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat is free with a work account. Since July 2026 it also shows up in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote. Answers from your own mail, files and chats, Copilot in Microsoft Teams meetings and the Researcher and Analyst agents need the paid licence. [1]
For Swiss organisations
- On Enterprise suites without Microsoft Teams, using Microsoft 365 Copilot in Microsoft Teams also needs the separate Microsoft Teams licence.
Common mistakes
- Giving Microsoft 365 Copilot to users whose mailbox is still on-premises.
- Leaving devices on an old Semi-Annual build or on device-based Office licensing. Microsoft 365 Copilot then won’t appear in the apps.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. License options for Microsoft Copilot · Microsoft Learn · page dated 17 September 2026
- 2. Microsoft 365 Business plans and pricing (CH) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
- 3. App and network requirements for Copilot · Microsoft Learn · page dated 24 September 2026
- 4. Upcoming channel unification: Semi-Annual Enterprise Channel to Monthly Enterprise Channel · Microsoft Learn · page dated 18 June 2026
Microsoft Defender Suite (formerly E5 Security) on top of E3, or full Microsoft 365 E5?
Short answerMicrosoft 365 E3 plus one suite costs less than Microsoft 365 E5. Need both suites? Take E5, which adds Microsoft Teams Phone and Power BI Pro.
- Microsoft Defender Suite: the full Microsoft Defender XDR stack plus Microsoft Entra ID P2. [1]
- Microsoft Purview Suite: auto-labelling, wider DLP, Insider Risk, eDiscovery and Audit (Premium). [2]
- Only Microsoft 365 E5 adds Microsoft Teams Phone, Audio Conferencing, Power BI Pro and Windows Enterprise E5. [3]
- E3 plus one suite is clearly cheaper than E5. E3 plus both costs slightly more. [1]
- Business Premium has its own versions of both suites, for up to 300 users. [4]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 6 sources
With one suite, E3 is clearly cheaper than E5; with both, it costs slightly more. Microsoft 365 E3 (CHF 35.32) takes two add-ons: the Microsoft Defender Suite (CHF 9.70) and the Microsoft Purview Suite (CHF 9.70, formerly E5 Compliance). Microsoft 365 E5 costs CHF 54.33. E3 plus both suites still lacks Microsoft Teams Phone and Power BI Pro.
- The Microsoft Defender Suite bundles Microsoft Defender XDR, Microsoft Defender for Endpoint P2, Microsoft Defender for Office 365 P2, Microsoft Defender for Identity, Microsoft Defender for Cloud Apps and Microsoft Entra ID P2. [1]
- The Microsoft Purview Suite covers automatic labelling, DLP for Microsoft Teams and devices, Insider Risk Management, Communication Compliance, eDiscovery (Premium), Audit (Premium), records management, Customer Key and Customer Lockbox. [2]
- E5 has things neither suite offers: Microsoft Teams Phone, Audio Conferencing, Power BI Pro, Windows Enterprise E5 and a Microsoft Security Copilot allowance. Since summer 2026 it also includes Microsoft Intune Endpoint Privilege Management, Cloud PKI and Enterprise App Management. [3]
- Add both the Microsoft Defender Suite and the Microsoft Purview Suite to E3 and the total comes to slightly more than E5. With one suite, E3 stays clearly below E5, until you also need Microsoft Teams Phone or Power BI Pro. [1]
- Business Premium tenants use the Microsoft Defender Suite and Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium (up to 300 seats). The enterprise suites require E3. [4]
| Licence | Price |
|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 E3 | CHF 35.32 |
| + Microsoft Defender Suite | CHF 9.70 |
| + Microsoft Purview Suite | CHF 9.70 |
| Microsoft 365 E5 | CHF 54.33 |
| Microsoft Teams Phone Standard, on its own | CHF 8.10 |
| Power BI Pro, on its own | CHF 11.30 |
| Microsoft 365 Business Premium | CHF 17.82 |
| + Microsoft Defender Suite for Business Premium | CHF 8.10 |
| + Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium | CHF 8.10 |
| + both suites for Business Premium | CHF 12.10 |
For Swiss organisations
- Up to 300 users, Business Premium plus both Business Premium suites gets close to E5 security and compliance for about half the price. What you don’t get: Microsoft Teams Phone, Power BI Pro and Windows Enterprise.
Common mistakes
- Assuming E3 plus both suites comes in under E5.
- Buying the enterprise suites for a Business Premium tenant. That tenant needs the Business Premium versions.
- Licensing only the admins. Every user who benefits from a Microsoft Defender or Microsoft Purview feature needs the licence.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Security suites for enterprises (CH) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
- 2. Microsoft Purview service description · learn.microsoft.com · page dated 21 August 2026
- 3. Microsoft 365 Enterprise plans & pricing (de-ch) · microsoft.com · page dated 24 September 2026
- 4. Security add-ons for Business Premium (CH) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
- Further reading (not cited above)5. Microsoft 365 pricing and packaging updates · Microsoft Licensing · page dated 16 February 2026
- 6. Microsoft 365 security & compliance product renames · SAMexpert · page dated 2 October 2025
With or without Microsoft Teams: what applies in Switzerland?
Short answerSwitzerland follows the EEA. Since 1 November 2025 anyone can buy suites with Microsoft Teams again; for E3, that costs about the same as the suite without Microsoft Teams plus a Microsoft Teams licence.
- From October 2023, new EEA and Swiss customers had to buy Microsoft Teams separately. [1]
- In September 2025 the European Commission made Microsoft’s Microsoft Teams commitments binding. [2]
- Since 1 November 2025, everyone can buy suites with Microsoft Teams again. [3]
- Existing customers can keep and renew suites with Microsoft Teams. Switching happens at renewal. [1]
- Microsoft Teams Phone, Microsoft Teams Premium and Microsoft Teams Rooms need a Microsoft Teams licence first. [4]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 5 sources
Switzerland is treated like the EEA: every suite comes with and without Microsoft Teams, and Microsoft Teams is also sold on its own. Since 1 November 2025, anyone can buy the suites with Microsoft Teams again. For E3, the version without Microsoft Teams plus a Microsoft Teams licence costs practically the same, so drop Microsoft Teams only for users who don’t need it.
- Microsoft’s 2023 change named “the European Economic Area and Switzerland” explicitly. From 1 October 2023, new customers there had to buy suites without Microsoft Teams plus a separate Microsoft Teams licence. [1]
- On 12 September 2025 the European Commission made Microsoft’s Microsoft Teams commitments binding: cheaper suites without Microsoft Teams, switching rights and interoperability. Microsoft voluntarily applies the same offers worldwide. [2]
- Since 1 November 2025, all customers, new and existing, can buy suites with Microsoft Teams again. The suites without Microsoft Teams also became cheaper. [3]
- If you already have suites with Microsoft Teams, you can keep them, renew them and add seats. Switching between the variants happens at the anniversary or renewal date. [1]
- Microsoft Teams Phone, Audio Conferencing, Microsoft Teams Premium and Microsoft Teams Rooms are add-ons to a Microsoft Teams licence. E5 without Microsoft Teams includes the Microsoft Teams Phone rights, but they only work with a Microsoft Teams licence. Calls to the phone network also need a Calling Plan, Operator Connect or Direct Routing. [4]
| Suite | With Microsoft Teams | Without Microsoft Teams |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 E3 | CHF 35.32 | CHF 28.38 |
| Microsoft 365 E5 | CHF 54.33 | CHF 47.40 |
| Microsoft 365 Business Premium | CHF 17.82 | CHF 15.21 |
| Microsoft 365 Business Standard | CHF 11.34 | CHF 8.73 |
| Microsoft Teams Enterprise, to add to a suite without Microsoft Teams | — | CHF 6.92 |
For Swiss organisations
- Going without Microsoft Teams only saves money for users who don’t need Microsoft Teams at all, for example because the company uses Zoom, Webex or Slack.
- On Microsoft’s Swiss site, the versions without Microsoft Teams are labelled “EWR (ohne Teams)”; EWR is the German abbreviation for the EEA.
Common mistakes
- Following outdated Microsoft Learn pages that say new customers can’t buy suites with Microsoft Teams. The November 2025 licensing news supersedes them.
- Buying Microsoft Teams Phone or Microsoft Teams Premium for users without a Microsoft Teams licence.
- Forgetting that Microsoft 365 Copilot in Microsoft Teams and Microsoft Teams DLP only work for users who have a Microsoft Teams licence.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. New subscription structure for Microsoft 365 in Europe · Microsoft Licensing · page dated 1 October 2023
- 2. Commission accepts commitments offered by Microsoft (IP/25/2048) · European Commission · page dated 12 September 2025
- 3. Update to Microsoft 365 and Teams licensing · Microsoft Licensing · page dated 3 November 2025
- 4. Microsoft Teams add-on licenses · learn.microsoft.com · page dated 26 March 2026
- Further reading (not cited above)5. Microsoft 365 Business plans without Teams (CH) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
Which Microsoft Purview compliance features come with Business Premium, E3 and E5?
Short answerBusiness Premium and E3: manual labels, email and file DLP, retention, Audit (Standard). Automatic labelling, eDiscovery (Premium) and Insider Risk need E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite.
- Manual sensitivity labels are in all three; automatic labelling needs E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
- DLP for email and files is in all three; Microsoft Teams chats and devices need E5. [1]
- Retention policies are in all three; auto-applied labels and records management need E5. [1]
- eDiscovery (Premium) and Audit (Premium) need E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
- Business Premium can add the Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium, up to 300 users. [2]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 3 sources
Business Premium and E3 give you manual sensitivity labels, DLP for email and files, retention policies and Audit (Standard). Automatic labelling, DLP for Microsoft Teams and devices, records management, eDiscovery (Premium), Audit (Premium), Insider Risk and Communication Compliance need E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite.
- Business Premium, E3 and E5 all include manual sensitivity labels. Automatic labelling, whether in the Office apps or on stored mail and files, needs E5, Office 365 E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
- Business Premium and E3 include DLP for Exchange, Microsoft SharePoint and Microsoft OneDrive. DLP for Microsoft Teams chats and for Windows and macOS devices needs E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
- Business Premium and E3 include organisation-wide retention policies (Microsoft Teams included) and manual retention labels. Auto-applied labels, adaptive scopes, event-based retention, records and disposition review need E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
- eDiscovery (Premium) needs E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite, for the admins and for the custodians whose data is searched. Audit (Premium), with one-year log retention, needs E5, the Purview Suite or a Business Premium Purview add-on. [1]
- Business Premium tenants can add the Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium (up to 300 users). It brings automatic labelling, DLP for Microsoft Teams and devices, records management, Insider Risk, Communication Compliance, eDiscovery (Premium) and Audit (Premium). [2]
| Feature | Business Premium | E3 | E5 | Purview Suite |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manual sensitivity labels | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Automatic labelling | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| DLP for Exchange, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft OneDrive | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| DLP for Microsoft Teams chats | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| DLP on Windows and macOS devices | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Retention policies (incl. Microsoft Teams) | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Auto-applied retention labels, records | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Archive up to 1.5 TB | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | — |
| eDiscovery (Standard) | ◐ Microsoft’s sources disagree | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| eDiscovery (Premium) | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Audit (Standard) | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Audit (Premium) | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Insider Risk Management | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Communication Compliance | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
“Add-on” means the Microsoft Purview Suite (on E3) or the Purview Suite for Business Premium. The Purview Suite is an add-on to E3, so its archive comes from E3.
Common mistakes
- Assuming E3 includes automatic labelling or DLP on devices. It doesn’t.
- Licensing only the compliance team. Everyone whose data falls under a premium feature needs the licence.
- Expecting the Microsoft 365 Copilot-specific retention and eDiscovery features without a Copilot licence.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Microsoft Purview service description · Microsoft Learn · page dated 21 August 2026
- 2. Security add-ons for Business Premium (CH) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
- Further reading (not cited above)3. Microsoft 365 guidance for security & compliance · Microsoft Learn · page dated 21 August 2026
Does our Microsoft 365 data stay in Switzerland?
Short answerSwiss tenants can keep core data in Switzerland free of charge. Stronger encryption needs Microsoft 365 E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite.
- Swiss tenants: core data stored in Switzerland at no extra cost. [1]
- Tenants created after 14 September 2026 have in-country storage off by default. Check it. [1]
- Advanced Data Residency guarantees in-region storage and must cover all eligible paid seats. [2]
- Advanced Data Residency is an add-on to 12 plans and included in none. [3]
- Customer Key, Advanced Message Encryption and Customer Lockbox: E5, E7, Office 365 E5, Microsoft Purview Suite. [4]
- Business Premium has Basic Message Encryption; the other three need its Microsoft Purview Suite. [5]
- Customer Key lets you encrypt with root keys you control. [6]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 7 sources
Core data can. Microsoft commits to storing core Microsoft 365 data of Swiss tenants in Switzerland at no extra cost; on new tenants, check the in-country setting. Broader guarantees need the paid Advanced Data Residency add-on. Customer Key, Advanced Message Encryption and Customer Lockbox need E5, E7, Office 365 E5 or a Microsoft Purview Suite. ClearSource does not state which data is stored where; Microsoft’s pages are listed below.
- Tenants set up in Switzerland get Microsoft’s contractual commitment to store core Microsoft 365 data in Switzerland at no extra cost; broader guarantees need the paid Advanced Data Residency add-on. [1]
- A new admin setting controls in-country storage: it is off by default for Swiss tenants created after 14 September 2026, and from 14 December 2026 Microsoft may store data in the EU Data Boundary while it is off. Check the setting in your admin center. [1]
- Advanced Data Residency commits data at rest in Exchange, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft Teams and more to your local datacenter region; Switzerland is eligible. It must be licensed for 100% of the tenant’s eligible paid seats. [2]
- Microsoft’s plan comparisons list Advanced Data Residency as an add-on to 12 plans (Business Basic, Standard and Premium; Microsoft 365 E3, E5, E7, F1 and F3; Office 365 E1, E3, E5 and F3) and as included in none. It has no SKU and no Swiss list price. [3]
- Customer Key, Advanced Message Encryption and Customer Lockbox are included in Microsoft 365 E5 and E7, Office 365 E5 and the Microsoft Purview Suite, not in E3. Basic Message Encryption is in E3, E5 and E7. [4]
- Business Premium includes Basic Message Encryption. Customer Key, Advanced Message Encryption and Customer Lockbox come with the Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium. [5]
- Customer Key encrypts Microsoft 365 data at rest with root keys you provide and control, on top of Microsoft’s own encryption. [6]
| Feature | Business Premium | E3 | E5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic Message Encryption | ✓ Included | ✓ Included | ✓ Included |
| Advanced Message Encryption | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included |
| Customer Key | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included |
| Customer Lockbox | + Add-on | + Add-on | ✓ Included |
| Advanced Data Residency | + Add-on | + Add-on | + Add-on |
“Add-on” means the Microsoft Purview Suite (on E3) or the Purview Suite for Business Premium; for Advanced Data Residency, the Advanced Data Residency add-on itself.
For Swiss organisations
- ClearSource does not state which services and data types the Swiss commitments cover, or where they are stored: see Microsoft’s “Microsoft 365 data locations” and Advanced Data Residency pages below.
- Multi-Geo and Double Key Encryption are not in Microsoft’s plan comparisons, so ClearSource does not say which plans include them.
- For an Advanced Data Residency price, ask your IT partner or Microsoft.
Common mistakes
- Treating encryption as a location guarantee. Customer Key and Advanced Message Encryption are about keys and mail protection, not where data is stored.
- Assuming the in-country setting is on. For Swiss tenants created after 14 September 2026 it is off by default.
- Buying Advanced Data Residency for some users only. It must cover 100% of the tenant’s eligible paid seats.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Overview of Product Terms Data Residency · Microsoft Learn · page dated 14 September 2026
- 2. Advanced data residency in Microsoft 365 · Microsoft Learn · page dated 18 May 2026
- 3. Microsoft 365 plan comparison, Enterprise (page 12) · Microsoft · page dated 1 September 2026
- 4. Microsoft 365 plan comparison, Enterprise (page 8) · Microsoft · page dated 1 September 2026
- 5. Microsoft 365 plan comparison, Business (page 6) · Microsoft · page dated 1 September 2026
- 6. Customer Key overview · Microsoft Learn · page dated 3 February 2025
- Further reading (not cited above)7. Microsoft 365 data locations · Microsoft Learn · page dated 3 September 2026
Users and mailboxes2
Who needs a Microsoft Entra ID P1 licence?
Short answerAnyone who benefits from a P1 feature, such as Conditional Access or dynamic groups, needs Microsoft Entra ID P1.
- Conditional Access and password-reset writeback: license every user they cover, even if it works unlicensed. [1]
- Dynamic groups: own one P1 licence per member. Device groups need none. [2]
- Included in Business Premium, E3, E5, F1, F3 and EMS E3. Not in Business Standard. [3]
- Guests are billed per monthly active user, and the first 50,000 are free. [4]
- Free Security defaults give baseline MFA but can’t be combined with Conditional Access. [5]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 6 sources
Any user who benefits from a P1 feature. That means everyone in scope of Conditional Access (MFA enforced through it included), members of dynamic groups, users of password reset with on-premises writeback and holders of custom admin roles. If you need none of that, the free Security defaults give you baseline MFA.
- Conditional Access, self-service password reset with on-premises writeback and MFA for on-premises apps all belong to P1. Each intended user needs a licence, even where the feature technically runs without one. [1]
- Every unique member of a dynamic group needs P1. You don’t have to assign the licences, but the tenant must own that many. Device-based dynamic groups need no licence. [2]
- Business Premium, E3, E5, E7, F1, F3 and EMS E3 include P1, and it is also sold on its own. Business Basic, Business Standard and the Office 365 plans come with Microsoft Entra ID Free only. [3]
- Guests don’t take per-user licences. External ID bills per monthly active user, and the first 50,000 monthly active users are free, P1 and P2 features included. [4]
- Security defaults cost nothing: MFA registration for everyone, MFA for admins, and legacy sign-ins blocked. They are all or nothing, and you can’t combine them with your own Conditional Access policies. [5]
Common mistakes
- Buying one P1 licence to “switch on” Conditional Access for the whole tenant.
- Forgetting that members of dynamic groups need P1 as well.
- Running risk-based policies or Privileged Identity Management on P1 alone. Both need Microsoft Entra ID P2 (in E5 or the Microsoft Defender Suite).
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. License self-service password reset · Microsoft Learn · page dated 4 March 2025
- 2. Manage rules for dynamic membership groups in Microsoft Entra ID · Microsoft Learn · page dated 13 August 2026
- 3. Microsoft Entra service description · Microsoft Learn · page dated 24 March 2026
- 4. External ID pricing · Microsoft Learn · page dated 22 June 2026
- 5. Security defaults · Microsoft Learn · page dated 1 July 2026
- Further reading (not cited above)6. Microsoft Entra licensing · Microsoft Learn · page dated 28 July 2026
Does a shared mailbox need a licence?
Buying and contracts5
Monthly or annual commitment: what’s the real difference?
Short answerMonthly costs 20% more, and seats can drop every month. Annual seats drop only within 7 days of buying or renewal.
- Monthly is 20% dearer: Business Standard CHF 13.61 instead of CHF 11.34. [1]
- Paying an annual term in monthly instalments adds 5%. [2]
- You can cancel with a refund only within 7 days of start or renewal. [3]
- Add seats any time. After day 7, removals wait for renewal. [4]
- Partner subscriptions left without a renewal choice roll on monthly at the monthly price plus 3%. [5]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 6 sources
Monthly costs 20% more: Business Premium is CHF 21.38 instead of CHF 17.82. In return, you can reduce seats every month. Annual fixes the price for the year, but you can only reduce or cancel seats within 7 days of buying or renewing.
- Microsoft’s Swiss site shows the 20% premium for monthly terms. Business Standard: CHF 13.61 monthly against CHF 11.34 annual. Business Basic: CHF 6.80 against CHF 5.67. [1]
- Since 1 April 2025, paying an annual or three-year term in monthly instalments costs 5% more than paying upfront. That holds in every channel: web direct, partner and MCA-E. [2]
- A cancellation with a prorated refund works only within 7 days (168 hours) of a term starting or renewing. After that, all you can do is switch off auto-renewal. [3]
- You can add seats at any time; they share the subscription’s price and end date. Removing seats works only in the same 7 days. Otherwise it takes effect at renewal. [4]
- Since 2026, partner subscriptions with auto-renewal off no longer simply end. They move to a month-to-month extension at the monthly price plus 3%. [5]
For Swiss organisations
- Rule of thumb: stable headcount, go annual. Seasonal staff or projects: a separate monthly subscription just for those seats.
- Microsoft’s Swiss site publishes no monthly-commitment price for E3 and E5.
Common mistakes
- Buying annual seats for temporary staff. You can’t reduce them until renewal.
- Missing the 7-day window after an automatic renewal. Check seat counts before the renewal date.
- Assuming “annual” means paid annually. Monthly instalments cost 5% more.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Microsoft 365 Business Standard (CH) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
- 2. Flexible billing for Microsoft 365 Copilot, pricing updates for annual subscriptions & Teams Phone · techcommunity.microsoft.com · page dated 12 November 2024
- 3. Cancel your Microsoft business subscription · Microsoft Learn · page dated 2 July 2026
- 4. Create customer subscriptions in Partner Center · Microsoft Learn · page dated 4 August 2026
- 5. Use Extended Service Terms (EST) for Cloud Solution Provider (CSP) subscriptions · Microsoft Learn · page dated 29 May 2026
- Further reading (not cited above)6. Pricing and offers · Microsoft Learn · page dated 16 June 2026
Does an expiring Enterprise Agreement have to move to CSP or MCA-E?
Short answerPossibly. Microsoft no longer renews some cloud EAs, mostly smaller ones, and moves them to CSP or MCA-E.
- Since January 2025 some cloud EAs aren’t renewed. Microsoft recommends CSP or MCA-E. [1]
- No threshold is published. Your account team or partner can confirm. [2]
- MCA-E: direct, open-ended, no minimum, billed in CHF. [3]
- Versus the EA: no annual true-up (you buy seats when you add them), prices locked per term, seats cut only at renewal. [4]
- CSP: the partner gives support. MCA-E: Microsoft support is a separate contract. [5]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 7 sources
Possibly. Since January 2025 Microsoft no longer renews some cloud EAs, mostly small and mid-sized ones, and tells those customers individually. They move to CSP (Microsoft’s Cloud Solution Provider programme: an IT partner bills and supports you), or buy direct under the Microsoft Customer Agreement for Enterprise (MCA-E). Since November 2025 EA renewals also no longer get volume discounts for levels B to D.
- From 1 January 2025, “a small percentage” of cloud EAs can no longer be renewed. In their place Microsoft recommends CSP for partner services and support, or MCA-E for buying direct. [1]
- Microsoft has published no seat threshold. Microsoft’s EA page still says 500. Only your Microsoft account team or partner can confirm your case. [2]
- MCA-E is Microsoft’s direct, open-ended agreement. It has no purchase minimum, is available in Switzerland and bills in CHF. [3]
- Unlike the EA, there is no annual true-up: you buy seats when you add them. Prices are locked per subscription term, and you can only reduce seats at renewal. [4]
- In CSP the partner handles support, and you can no longer open tickets with Microsoft yourself. Under MCA-E, enterprise support is a separate Microsoft Unified Support contract. [5]
Step by step
- Ask your Microsoft account team or partner, 6–12 months before expiry, whether your EA can be renewed.
- List every subscription with its seats and end date, plus your on-premises licences with Software Assurance.
- Compare CSP partner offers (price, support, services) with MCA-E plus a support contract.
- Plan Software Assurance separately. It doesn’t carry over to CSP or MCA-E automatically.
Common mistakes
- Leaving it to the last months before expiry.
- Expecting a true-down at year end. Seats only go down at renewal.
- Going direct and forgetting the cost of support.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Accelerating growth through partners in the era of AI · Microsoft Partner Blog · page dated 12 November 2024
- 2. Enterprise Agreement | Microsoft Volume Licensing · Microsoft · page dated 29 September 2026
- 3. Microsoft Customer Agreement FAQ · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 June 2026
- 4. New commerce license-based overview · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 August 2025
- 5. Provide support to your customers · Microsoft Learn · page dated 18 February 2026
- Further reading (not cited above)6. Online Services pricing consistency update · Microsoft Licensing · page dated 12 August 2025
- 7. Is the Microsoft Enterprise Agreement still worth it in 2026? · SAMexpert · page dated 19 May 2026
Should we buy through a CSP partner or direct from Microsoft?
Short answerSame products and contract either way. A CSP partner suits most Swiss SMEs; direct suits organisations with strong in-house IT.
- Partners set their own prices, above or below Microsoft’s direct price. [1]
- Under CSP the partner supports you. You can’t open Microsoft tickets yourself. [2]
- Microsoft bills direct customers, the partner bills CSP customers. Both in CHF. [3]
- The commitment rules are identical in both channels. [4]
- Partners should get time-limited GDAP roles (admin rights you grant and can revoke). Global Admin stays with you. [5]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 5 sources
Same products, same Microsoft Customer Agreement. What differs is who bills you, who supports you and who can administer your tenant. A CSP partner suits most Swiss SMEs that want local support. Buying direct suits strong in-house IT, or large organisations that negotiate MCA-E and buy Microsoft support.
- Partners set their own prices. Depending on margin, services and promotions, these can sit above or below Microsoft’s estimated retail (direct) price. [1]
- Under CSP the partner owns support and escalates to Microsoft. You can’t open Microsoft tickets yourself. Partners must state what support they give and at what price. [2]
- Microsoft invoices direct customers; the partner invoices CSP customers. With a Swiss legal address you are billed in CHF either way. [3]
- Terms, 7-day cancellation, reductions only at renewal: the commitment rules are the same in both channels. [4]
- Partners should use GDAP: named, least-privilege, time-limited roles that you grant and can revoke. You keep your own Global Admin accounts. [5]
For Swiss organisations
- What a good Swiss partner adds: CHF invoices with Swiss VAT, support in your language during Swiss hours, scoped GDAP roles, licence right-sizing before each renewal, and advice on Swiss data residency.
- Ask whether the partner bills you directly or resells through a distributor. That affects how fast problems get escalated.
- Check any quote against Microsoft’s public CHF list price, shown on each licence page.
Common mistakes
- Assuming a partner is always cheaper than list price, or always dearer. Compare the total, services included.
- Handing a partner permanent Global Admin rights instead of scoped, time-limited GDAP roles.
- Going direct to save the margin, then having no one to call.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Pricing and offers · Microsoft Learn · page dated 17 June 2026
- 2. Provide support to your customers · Microsoft Learn · page dated 18 February 2026
- 3. Microsoft Customer Agreement FAQ · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 June 2026
- 4. New commerce license-based overview · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 August 2025
- 5. GDAP introduction · Microsoft Learn · page dated 27 May 2026
Can we save by paying US or EU prices instead of CHF?
Short answerIn practice, no. Billing follows your legal address, and the small Microsoft 365 E3 saving doesn’t pay for a new tenant.
- A tenant’s country is fixed. It sets taxes, currency and data location. [1]
- Your legal address sets the billing currency. Switzerland means CHF. [2]
- 25 September 2026: E3 about 9% cheaper in USD, Business Premium no cheaper. [3]
- Swiss VAT still applies: 8.1% acquisition tax on services bought abroad. [4]
- Microsoft’s migration tool costs extra per user and skips Microsoft SharePoint sites and Microsoft Teams channels. [5]
Verdict: Not worth it for a Swiss company. The gain is at most a few francs per E3 user a month. The cost: a new tenant, a full migration, Swiss data residency and possibly compliance.
Details & sourcesFull answer and 10 sources
In practice, no. Your company’s legal address sets the billing currency, and a tenant’s country can’t be changed. Switching means a new tenant and a full migration. On 25 September 2026 the saving was about 9% on E3 and nothing on Business Premium, and you would lose Swiss data residency.
- You can’t change a tenant’s country. It determines available services, taxes, billing currency and data location; changing it means signing up for a new tenant. [1]
- Under the Microsoft Customer Agreement, the legal address decides billing country and currency. Without a real US entity, there is no legitimate basis for a US billing account. [2]
- Price check on 25 September 2026 (ECB rate, 1 USD ≈ CHF 0.828): E3 at USD 39 ≈ CHF 32.30 against CHF 35.32 in Switzerland; Business Premium at USD 22 ≈ CHF 18.22 against CHF 17.82. German EUR prices were about 1% above Swiss prices. [3]
- You don’t escape VAT. Services bought from a foreign supplier are subject to Swiss acquisition tax (Bezugsteuer) of 8.1%. [4]
- Microsoft’s tool needs a paid Cross-Tenant User Data Migration licence for each user, and it doesn’t move Microsoft SharePoint sites or Microsoft Teams channels. [5]
Step by step
- Legal check: is there a real foreign company to be the customer? Assess data protection, professional secrecy, FINMA outsourcing rules and customer contracts.
- Business case: seats × monthly difference × 12 × years, set against migration licences, partner fees, internal effort and downtime.
- Create the new tenant. Rebuild Microsoft Entra ID, Conditional Access, Microsoft Intune, retention and DLP.
- Buy subscriptions in the new country, plus a migration licence per user. Migrate mailboxes, Microsoft OneDrive and Microsoft Teams chats.
- Move your domains over a cutover weekend (a domain lives in only one tenant), then update MX, SPF, DKIM and DMARC.
- Remove devices from the old Autopilot, then register and re-enrol them in the new one. Users set up MFA and sign in again.
- Keep the old tenant until retention obligations are met, then close it.
For Swiss organisations
- Swiss data residency often matters for lawyers, doctors, fiduciaries and the public sector, and in customer contracts.
- Banks and insurers supervised by FINMA must treat a move to a US tenant as a material outsourcing change.
Common mistakes
- Buying through a US partner. CSP partners may only sell in their own region, so a US partner can’t sell to a Swiss tenant.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Change your organisation’s country or region · Microsoft Learn · page dated 1 May 2026
- 2. Microsoft Customer Agreement FAQ · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 June 2026
- 3. Microsoft 365 Enterprise plans and pricing (US) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
- 4. Steuerpflicht Bezugsteuer bei der Mehrwertsteuer · Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung ESTV · page dated 29 September 2026
- 5. Migration orchestrator overview · Microsoft Learn · page dated 23 March 2026
- Further reading (not cited above)6. CSP global markets · Microsoft Learn · page dated 12 September 2025
- 7. Microsoft 365 Enterprise plans and pricing (CH) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
- 8. ECB euro reference rates · European Central Bank · page dated 25 September 2026
- 9. Microsoft 365 data locations · Microsoft Learn · page dated 3 September 2026
- 10. FINMA Circular 2018/3 Outsourcing · FINMA · page dated 5 December 2017
Do schools, universities and nonprofits get their own Microsoft licences and prices?
Short answerSchools get their own A-plans, and Office 365 A1 is free for eligible institutions. Nonprofits: no Swiss list price on record.
- Microsoft lists faculty and student A1, A3 and A5 plans, plus a nonprofit donation licence. [1]
- Office 365 A1 is free for eligible institutions and their teachers and learners. [2]
- Office 365 A3: CHF 3.05 faculty, CHF 2.35 students. A5: CHF 7.55 and CHF 5.65. [2]
- Microsoft decides eligibility. Confirm it, and the price, with an IT partner. [2]
- Nonprofits: no Swiss list price or eligibility page on record. Ask Microsoft or a partner. [1]
Details & sourcesFull answer and 2 sources
For education, yes. Microsoft sells separate A-plans for faculty and students, and Office 365 A1 is free for eligible institutions. Office 365 A3 costs CHF 3.05 for faculty and CHF 2.35 for students, per user and month. Microsoft decides who is eligible. For nonprofits, ClearSource has no Swiss list price on record.
- Microsoft’s licensing list includes faculty and student versions of the A1, A3 and A5 plans, add-ons, and education-only products such as Minecraft Education. For nonprofits it lists a “Nonprofit Portal” and a “Microsoft 365 Business Premium Donation” licence. [1]
- According to Microsoft’s Swiss education page, Office 365 A1 is free for eligible institutions, and for teachers and learners with an email address at one. [2]
- The same page lists Office 365 A3 at CHF 3.05 (faculty) and CHF 2.35 (students), and Office 365 A5 at CHF 7.55 and CHF 5.65. All per user and month, excl. VAT. [2]
- Microsoft decides who is eligible; ClearSource doesn’t check. Before you order, ask an IT partner to confirm that you qualify, and the exact licences and price. [2]
- ClearSource has no Swiss list price for nonprofits and no confirmed Microsoft eligibility page on record, so it states no price or condition. Ask Microsoft or an IT partner what applies to you. [1]
For Swiss organisations
- Microsoft’s Swiss page shows Office 365 A1, A3 and A5, but not Microsoft 365 A3 or A5. For those, ClearSource shows converted prices, marked “≈”, on its Education & nonprofit page.
Common mistakes
- Assuming you qualify automatically. Microsoft decides, and these licences are not for commercial customers.
- Budgeting on a converted “≈” price. Get the exact product and price confirmed in a quote.
Sources
ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.
- 1. Product names and service plan identifiers for licensing · Microsoft Learn · page dated 23 September 2026
- 2. Microsoft Education: Office 365 A1, A3 and A5 for Switzerland · Microsoft · page dated 29 September 2026
CHF prices are Microsoft’s public Swiss list prices per user and month, excluding VAT, read from microsoft.com/de-ch on 4 October 2026. Partner (CSP) prices can differ.
Cost and product guides
Questions the plan comparison can’t settle alone: what calling, Microsoft 365 Copilot, printing or Microsoft Power BI cost, and which Microsoft Intune, Microsoft Entra or Microsoft Defender tier fits. With Swiss list prices from Microsoft’s own pages.
Products & featuresUniversal Print: phone release and print jobs per licenceNo print server in the cupboard, and the document waits in the cloud until you’re standing at the printer. How Microsoft’s Universal Print works, what releasing a job with your phone looks like since August 2026, and how many print jobs your licences actually bring.
LicensingAn employee leaves: which licence keeps their mailbox and Microsoft OneDrive?Block the account on day one. To keep the data, you don’t have to keep paying for Microsoft 365 E5. From Microsoft’s documentation: what a shared mailbox, inactive mailbox, smaller licence or backup keeps, for how long, and how much work a restore is.
PricingWhat does Microsoft SharePoint cost in Switzerland?Microsoft includes SharePoint in its Microsoft 365 and Office 365 plans. Which plans bring SharePoint (Plan 1), SharePoint (Plan 2) or SharePoint Kiosk, their Swiss list prices, how much storage you get, and what adds more.
PricingWhat Microsoft 365 Copilot costs in CHFMicrosoft 365 Copilot per user and month at Microsoft’s Swiss list prices: as an add-on, bundled with Business Standard or Premium, or inside Microsoft 365 E7.
LicensingBusiness Premium above 300 users: your optionsBusiness plans stop at 300 seats per tenant. What counts towards that cap, how to mix Business Premium with E3 or E5, and what each option costs in CHF.
PricingWhat Microsoft Teams Phone costs in CHFMicrosoft Teams Phone at Microsoft’s Swiss list prices, alone and with a Microsoft calling plan, plus what Operator Connect and Direct Routing need on top.
PricingMonthly vs annual billingOne licence, three ways to pay at Microsoft’s Swiss list prices: a 12-month commitment billed yearly, the same commitment billed monthly, or with monthly cancellation.
Products & featuresPower BI Pro vs Premium Per User vs FabricPer-user Microsoft Power BI licences or a Fabric capacity. Prices where Microsoft publishes them, and when Microsoft says a capacity makes sense.
Products & featuresMicrosoft 365 Copilot Business vs Copilot (enterprise)Microsoft 365 Copilot comes as two licences. Who may buy which, and what each costs.
LicensingWith vs without Microsoft TeamsSuites with and without Microsoft Teams, plus the separate Microsoft Teams add-on. What the difference costs in Switzerland.
Products & featuresMicrosoft Teams Essentials vs Microsoft 365 Business vs EnterpriseThree ways to get Microsoft Teams, and what you give up by taking the cheapest.
Products & featuresMicrosoft Teams calling: Calling Plans vs Operator Connect vs Direct RoutingHow Microsoft Teams Phone connects to the phone network in Switzerland, Microsoft Teams Phone Mobile included.
SecurityMicrosoft Intune Plan 1 vs Plan 2 vs Intune SuiteThe Microsoft Intune device-management tiers as they stand after Microsoft’s 2026 packaging changes.
SecurityGlobal Secure Access vs Always On VPN vs DirectAccessEvery Microsoft option for remote access, from Microsoft Entra Private Access to VPN Gateway and Cloud PCs, with licences and prices.
Products & featuresUniversal Print vs cloud print vs print serverMicrosoft’s Universal Print set against PaperCut, Printix and a print server of your own, with a calculator for print jobs and running costs.
What next?
The licence table moved to Licences
Every Microsoft licence — with SKU ID, GUID, Swiss list price and the group-naming helper — now lives in Licences, next to the plan comparison and Find a plan.
